Wilkommen Oktoberfest! My German Tradition Transformation

beautyaroundtown

I admit it, I fell prey to buying the sexy german bar maid costume and heading to Oktoberfest in my home town. I drank beer and ate pretzels the size of my head and danced to songs I had never heard. I was blissfully unaware of the culture of Oktoberfest. That was six years ago.

Looking back, I am somewhat embarassed by that sexy bar maid costume. Not because I’m older, or “wider” or feel it is “not appropriate mom-wear”. I did indeed have both of my daughters already 6 years ago. It was because I became a little more German.

My ancestry is indeed mostly German. I come from both “Korns” on my mother’s side and “Shavers” on my father’s side. I did not know that most of the Autumn, baking and Christmas traditions I grew up with were German. I married my husband in 2001 and my last…

View original post 559 more words

Leave a Reply

