Of Witch Hunts and Fairground Rides

tracyloveshistory

Before we start, I have a small confession to make. I have gone all medieval again because I have started playing an online empire building game. I have become, I say with not a little embarrassment, an online gamer. And I am obsessed. It is quite difficult to remember to feed my corporeal body in between feeding the bodies of my imaginary army.

What this means for all of you, my beloved readers, is that my reading choices, my dress, my pattern of speech have all been affected by the fact that every morning when I wake up and every night before I go to sleep, I tend to my crenellated buildings, I train my light cavalry and prepare for war with my clan mates in imaginary smoky taverns. Look, I have even rewritten Chaucer’s Knight’s Tale to tell my story, my tales of derring do. My alterations appear in square brackets.

Heere bigynneth the…

View original post 1,143 more words

Leave a Reply

